Questions and Answers

For members of the "Former Christian" usergroup

Moderator: Moderators

river
Student

Questions and Answers

Post #1

Post by river »

For those of us who spent any time studying the Bible as a Christian and sitting under various ministries have you ever wondered how on earth could I have believed something so ludicrous? How could I have been so gullible?

I can't speak for everyone but an explanation for why I embraced Christianity so doggedly is not so hard to come by.

I was a student of the Bible for 25 years. I now know why they would always tell me how important Sunday school is because in Sunday school they give you so many memory verses you can go your whole life thinking you know what is in the Bible when really you don't.

sometimes I would see things in the Bible that gave me pause (to put it mildly) but like so many other questions I would quickly squelch any questions that tried to rise in my mind. I squelched the questions because on some deep level I knew I was not emotionally ready to handle the possible answers. Answers that might behoove me to take bold actions I wasn't prepared to take. So I just doubled my dose of the blue pills and kept believing.

In fact, I was right in the middle of defending the Bible against a list of Bible contradictions posted at another website when I was absolutely checkmated. I was zeroing in on the easy ones when someone brought up an issue I had buried and there was nothing I could honestly do but confess my uncertainty.

This opened the door for me to see the absurdity of thinking I had all the answers when I was scared to ask the questions. I then prayed to "the Lord" saying You said you would never leave me nor forsake me, that no one can pluck me out of Your hands. If this is true then I have nothing to fear exploring these questions whatever their answers may turn out to be. What You told me is either true or it's not.