Hinduism

Getting to know more about a specific belief

Moderator: Moderators

Nilloc James
Site Supporter

Hinduism

Post #1

Post by Nilloc James »

Could someone explain Hinduism to me. I am completely new to the topic.

And please no, "there is no evidence" from atheists, or "It is not the true faith" from Christains or any other religion. Just what they beleive.

Nameless

Post #2

Post by Nameless »

Considering the diversity and number of sects, and interpretations, you might give it the respect of not imagining that someone can toss a couple of lines on a page and tell you anything of value. There are thousands of books and texts on the subject. If you are 'really' interested in knowing Hinduism, I'd recomment reading all the scriptures, studying interpretations, and practicing the practices yourself. From thence you might find knowledge/understanding'; if you 'really' want to know...

Catharsis

Post #3

Post by Catharsis »

In the most general terms, all religions and religious-philosophical systems may be divided into two groups. The first includes those teachings which recognize God as a Personal Being, One all-perfect and transcendent, the Maker of all things visible and invisible. The second group believes in an impersonal Principle, which some call the Absolute, others the eternal Principle of the world, still others the cosmic Force or some other such term. Christianity, Judaism and Islam belong to the first group, which may be called God-centered, since faith in a personal God is the foundation for all other religious truths. The Eastern religions of the Hindu or occult type belong to the second group; in contrast to the first, these systems can be called man-centered.