What of the NU and M text?

Exploring the details of Christianity

Moderator: Moderators

brianbbs67
Guru

What of the NU and M text?

Post #1

Post by brianbbs67 »

What are your opinions of the NU and M texts in the footnotes of the NKJ? Sometimes they are way different than the traditional. And the Majority text can either indicated a Majority or it appears a divided Majority of differing opinions.

https://www.laridian.com/content/tsfaq. ... categories
Last edited by brianbbs67 on Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JehovahsWitness
Savant

Re: What of the NU and M text?

Post #2

Post by JehovahsWitness »

[Replying to post 1 by brianbbs67]

Are you referring to the footnotes being "way different" or the manuscripts (NU / M)?
  • I'm no expert but I know a good translation would reference as many different manuscrips as possible, favoring the most respected. The varieties between actual manuscipts are not as significant as some would have us believe as is evidenced by the relative uniformity of translations across the board.
Good study bibles usually note in the footnotes when their are "significant" variants in source content, I know my translations does this NWT Reference Bible.
INDEX: More bible based ANSWERS
http://debatingchristianity.com/forum/v ... 81#p826681

"For if we live, we live to Jehovah, and if we die, we die to Jehovah. So both if we live and if we die, we belong to Jehovah" -
Romans 14:8

brianbbs67
Guru

Post #3

Post by brianbbs67 »

JehovahsWitness wrote: [Replying to post 1 by brianbbs67]

Are you referring to the footnotes being "way different" or the manuscripts (NU / M)?
  • I'm no expert but I know a good translation would reference as many different manuscrips as possible, favoring the most respected. The varieties between actual manuscipts are not as significant as some would have us believe as is evidenced by the relative uniformity of translations across the board.