Exploring the details of Christianity

Moderator: Moderators

Donray
Guru

Gods plan versus Free Will

Post #1

Post by Donray »

Gods plan versus Free Will

Does God have a plan for people? If so that means people do not have free will since God must control the plan.

I was a project manager before I am a retired and I could not allow any people working on my projects Free Will, they had to do what I wanted period. So, I don’t understand how people can say God has plan for them and yet also have free will. They are mutually incapable.

So the question is does God plan or does God allow free will and no plan?

polonius
Prodigy

Re: Gods plan versus Free Will

Post #2

Post by polonius »

Donray wrote: Gods plan versus Free Will

Does God have a plan for people? If so that means people do not have free will since God must control the plan.

I was a project manager before I am a retired and I could not allow any people working on my projects Free Will, they had to do what I wanted period. So, I don’t understand how people can say God has plan for them and yet also have free will. They are mutually incapable.

RESPONSE: I'm glad you understand.

ElCodeMonkey
Site Supporter

Post #3

Post by ElCodeMonkey »

[Replying to post 1 by Donray]

I don't think you were God-like enough to strip your underlings of their free will. So clearly you had a plan and they retained free will simultaneously. They could have quit with their free will or done something you didn't want and it would simply be bad for your plan.