The Prophets

Chat viewable by general public

Moderator: Moderators

Rose2020
Scholar

The Prophets

Post #1

Post by Rose2020 »

I realise that I have quite overlooked the prophets, especially in the Old Testament. So I am studying them in more detail. I have one book by Arthur C Cundall and J Stafford Wright. It is proving useful.

Could anyone recommend further good books? I want to know more about what is known of their lives and the meanings of their prophecies.

Tcg
Savant

Re: The Prophets

Post #2

Post by Tcg »

Rose2020 wrote: Thu Aug 04, 2022 3:03 pm I realise that I have quite overlooked the prophets, especially in the Old Testament. So I am studying them in more detail. I have one book by Arthur C Cundall and J Stafford Wright. It is proving useful.

Could anyone recommend further good books? I want to know more about what is known of their lives and the meanings of their prophecies.
Moderator Action

Moved to an appropriate subforum.

Moderator actions indicate that a thread/post has been locked, moved, merged, or split.

Miles
Savant

Post #3

Post by Miles »

I've always thought Jesus' prophecies in Matthew were pretty interesting, particularly 24:34.

Matthew 24:3-34 (ESV)
3 As [Jesus] sat on the Mount of Olives, the disciples came to him privately, saying, “Tell us, when will these things be, and what will be the sign of your coming and of the end of the age?” 4 And Jesus answered them, “See that no one leads you astray. 5 For many will come in my name, saying, ‘I am the Christ,’ and they will lead many astray. 6 And you will hear of wars and rumors of wars. See that you are not alarmed, for this must take place, but the end is not yet. 7 For nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom, and there will be famines and earthquakes in various places. 8 All these are but the beginning of the birth pains.